

## MEDIA RELEASE

20 May 2021

## State Planning Commission appoints new SCAP Deputy

The State Planning Commission (the Commission) has appointed a new Deputy Presiding Member to the State Commission Assessment Panel (SCAP) for the period 1 June 2021 to 31 May 2023.

Ms Rebecca Rutschack will replace the current Deputy Presiding Member, Mr Dennis Mutton whose term expires on 31 May 2021.

Ms Rutschack comes to SCAP with extensive planning experience and knowledge of the development assessment process as well as considerable local government and council assessment panel experience at both the City of Adelaide and the City of Mitcham. Her appointment follows the Commission's public call for applicants via an <u>expression of interest</u> process in April this year, which resulted in 19 applications.

"I am thrilled to welcome Rebecca as the new Deputy Presiding Member of SCAP and congratulate her on this significant appointment. The SCAP will greatly benefit from Rebecca's invaluable expertise and experience in both planning and local government," said the Commission's Chairperson Helen Dyer.

"I also wish to express my sincere thanks to Mr Dennis Mutton, the outgoing Deputy Presiding Member, for his support, dedication and hard work as a SCAP member since its inception and prior to that as a valued member of the Development Assessment Commission. Dennis has made an enormous contribution to the development that has enhanced this State," she said.

Ms Rutschack, who currently works as a Planning Consultant, added "I am looking forward to joining SCAP and continuing the work of the panel in assessing major development for the State. I hope to bring some fresh, relevant and new perspectives to the panel's deliberations."

The SCAP comprises six members—a Presiding Member, a Deputy Presiding Member, four ordinary members, and occasional / specialist members — who are appointed by the Commission. Members are appointed for a maximum of 3 years and are eligible for reappointment.

Collectively, the SCAP panel have qualifications and experience in strategic planning and development, local government, urban and landscape design, building safety and construction, heritage, environmental management and sustainability, and legal expertise.

Since its inception in 2017, the SCAP has attracted a high calibre of applicants with the Commission requiring members to be Accredited Professionals (Accredited Professional – planning level 2) and encompass a broad mix of technical expertise.

Further Information: Emma Williams, State Planning Commission Communications Manager Tel: 0413 985 291 Email: <u>Emma.williams3@sa.gov.au</u>